Bianca Cornacchia’s Experience In The Retail Industry

Name: Bianca Cornachhia

Graduation Year: 2013

Major/Minor: Marketing/Communication

Company Interned For: Ross Stores (Summer 2011) and Michael Kors (Summer 2012)

Hometown: Hamden, CT

AC: Michael Kors AND Ross Stores…that must have been very cool.  What was your favorite part?

BC:My favorite part of my internship at Michael Kors was to assist in the Holiday 2012 Photo Shoot. I was involved in creating the Ready-to-wear Merchandising Guide, which portrays Michael Kors as a sophisticated, jet-set, lifestyle brand. My absolute favorite part of my internship was to personally meet Michael Kors and listen to him speak about his inspiration and vision for the upcoming Holiday season.

My favorite part of my internship at Ross Stores was to have an integral role in the buying process of moderate women’s sweaters. The ability to help design a sweater with a vendor, write the purchase order, and then see the item hit the floor and sell is extremely exciting! I have a passion for the off-price retail industry because our customers are purchasing brand names items for 50-70% less of those at a department store, while still maintaining the latest styles in fashion!

.

AC: What were your day to day activities in your position at Michael Kors?

BC: My tasks varied on a daily basis-I never know what activities would come my way!  Since I was an intern in Retail Development for the Ready-To-Wear division, I acted as a liaison between the store level and the corporate level.  One day I could be at Bloomingdale’s helping merchandise a new delivery that hit the sales floor, or I could be pulling samples to send to a District Coordinator out in Hawaii, or I could be styling our model, Amanda, for our Holiday photo shoot. There was never a dull moment and I was truly engaged in every activity that I took part in!

AC: How do Ross Stores and Michael Kors differ?

BC: The main difference between Ross Stores and Michael Kors is that Ross Stores is an off-price retailer that offers its merchandise at everyday low prices.  In contrast, Michael Kors is the leading American fashion designer for luxury accessories and sportswear.  The mission at Michael Kors is to bring a vision of chic, sophisticated, jet-set luxury lifestyle to women and men around the globe.  Their products are of the highest standard of quality and the company embraces the highest standards of creativity, quality, and technology.

AC: How did you hear about these internships?

BC: I heard of the buying internship with Ross Stores through The Amica Center for Career Education.  I used the Bryant Career Connection (BCC) with the purpose of submitting my resume and ultimately landing a  summer internship with Ross Sores.  I discovered the Retail Development internship with Michael Kors through an independent fashion and business internship website. I have been extremely fortunate to land a job as Assistant Buyer with Ross Stores in New York City.

AC: What advice do you have for students who are looking to enter the Fashion Industry?

BC: Here is a list of my personal tips for success in the Fashion Industry:

  1. Diversify “your brand” through various internships
  2. Develop a passion for fashion
  3. Be consistent
  4. Be persistent
  5. Never be afraid to speak up or ask for help
  6. Never be afraid to say “no” (it is a word!)
  7. Never lose excitement during the course of your internship
  8. Take risks
  9. Networking is key!
  10. Don’t let yourself get intimidated by others; have faith and confidence in yourself!
Comments are closed.