Barnes Group Internship: Steve Adams

Name: Steve Adams

Major: Accounting

Company Interned For: Barnes Group

Hometown: Bristol, CT

AC : What was your favorite part about your internship?

SA: The real world experience and the networking opportunities presented by the company was my favorite part. After my internship, I had a better understanding about private accounting and business in general. I also was able to work with PwC from the other side, while this summer I will be working with PwC directly. When it comes to networking opportunities, I have remained in touch with my supervisor and if when I had any questions, needed information, or needed a recommendation they were more than happy to help me out.

AC: Which courses at Bryant would you say prepared you the most for this internship?

SA: BUS101 (GFOB), ACG203 (it was an accounting internship) and CIS helped with dealing with excel

AC: How did you learn about your internship?

SA: Family connections-everything you do these days is connections here and there.  They’ll get you very far.

AC: What were some challenges you faced in your internship and how did you overcome them?

SA: The most difficult part of my internship was learning the procedures and a lot of new software in a very short period of time. At times it was too much, but in order to overcome it, I had to make sure I took great notes to fall back on so that I wouldn’t have to ask my supervisor a question on every step.  If I did have a question, it would be on the next 5 steps and not the one I was currently on or one that had already passed.

AC: Any advice for underclassmen who are majoring in accounting?

SA: Find an internship in your field as early as you can.  Not only is it a great way to separate yourself from all the other competition when searching for a job, but it also will help in other classes when you can relate the material back to your real world experience.

Comments are closed.