Courtney’s Public Accounting Internship at PwC

PwC's Intern Development Program (IDP) at Disney World!

PwC’s Intern Development Program (IDP) at Disney World!

Name: Courtney Nason-Farrell

Major: Accounting

Company Interned For: PwC

Hometown: Pittsfield, Massachusetts

AC: How did you hear about your internship?

CN: I first heard about the internship my sophomore year. I had participated in PwC’s xTax challenge on campus and learned about their internship opportunities in tax, assurance, and advisory.

AC: What were some challenges you faced in your internship and how did you overcome them?

CN: Being new to public accounting, I faced many challenges. My first obstacle was learning the auditing procedures and standards, since I’d never taken an auditing class. There was so much information to take in. However, I took detailed notes during my orientation and training, and asked my supervisor questions during our engagement. Another challenge I faced was trying to meet as many interns as possible. The Boston office had hundreds of interns from across the United States. I made an effort to have lunch with students I didn’t know and get to know them on a personal level.

AC: What did you do on a day-to-day basis?  Did Bryant help you to fill these roles?

CN: My day-to-day duties included meeting with my audit engagement team and going through the planning stages of the audit. I looked at the prior year’s audit and rolled forward certain documents that would be used for this year’s engagement. Bryant prepared me for these roles with the various team projects students do each semester. Learning how to work in a team is essential for productivity.

AC: Why do you think internships are important?  How much did you learn from yours?

CN: Internships are extremely important; they have the potential to launch your career. With PwC, once you’re in, whether it be for the Sophomore leadership program, or an internship your junior or senior year, you receive a full-time job offer. An internship gives you the opportunity to gain experience in that field, expand your network, and learn something new everyday. At my internship, I learned about PwC’s assurance practice and the different industries they serve. Being on Asset Management, I learned how to begin an audit, roll over information from a prior year, and do final tie-outs of an audit. I also learned that people are a great resource; they have so much valuable experience and great advice for college graduates.

AC: Any advice for other students who are in your same major?

CN: For students in Accounting, one of the biggest questions is “should I go into public accounting?” Granted, it may not be for everyone, but the knowledge, experience, and networks you gain from public accounting are priceless. I would advise students to try for an internship with a public accounting firm. However, if they are weary, get your foot in the door anywhere! Accounting jobs are everywhere. Start looking for internships early in your college career. They are so beneficial.

AC: Where do you see yourself in five years?

CN: In five years, I either see myself still working for PwC as a manager, or I will be pursuing my Ph.D in Accounting. My ultimate goal is to become a professor.

PwC's Intern Development Program (IDP) at Disney World!

PwC’s Intern Development Program (IDP) at Disney World!

Comments are closed.