Bao Thai’s Marketing Experience at The Original Muck Boot Company

525352_10151425762650401_869376021_n

Name: Bao Thai

Major/Minor: Marketing/Chinese

Company Interned For: Honeywell Safety Products (The Original Muck Boot Company)

Hometown: Gorham, Maine

 

AC: What was your favorite part about your internship?

BT: They sent me to Vegas on their behalf last summer-that was definitely my favorite part.  I manned our booth at a trade show where retailers came and placed their product orders.  It was a lot of fun and I met a lot of great people.

AC: Which courses at Bryant would you say prepared you the most for this internship?

BT: I would say my Management201 class mostly because I was able to see many concepts in action.  It was cool to see how extensive the supply chain can be no matter what the product is you are selling.  I was able to see on a first-hand basis all the steps of producers, manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, retailers, etc. who worked with our products to get them in the hands of the consumer.  This type of information was learned through my Management201 course (Operations Mangement).

AC: How did you learn about your internship?

BT: The Amica Center advised me to go onto the BCC to check internship positions that were available.  Once I did that, I applied.  After that, I kept in contact with the recruiters and eventually was offered the position.draft_lens6196582module99544771photo_1273316882Muck_Logo_whtline_muck-bo

AC: What were some challenges you faced in your internship and how did you overcome them?

BT:  I was lucky enough to not have any bad experiences while interning.  I would say a challenge I faced though was time management.  I did not have as much free time as I thought I would or as I was used to.  This took a lot of adjusting and getting my priorities in line.  By the end, I am used to the schedule.  Facing the challenge of time management and overcoming it has been beneficial towards my other obligations outside of my internship like school too.

AC: Any advice for underclassmen who are majoring in marketing?

BT: Stand Out! Employers see the same black and white resume every day-it’s all about making yourself memorable, and a high Klout score wouldn’t hurt either.  Market and brand yourself so employers aren’t just looking to fill a position but they’re begging you to take a job with them.

Comments are closed.