The Business Side of Baseball-Patrick’s Internship With The New Britain Rock Cats

CaptureName: Patrick Coleman

Year: 2014

Major/Minor: Accounting/Mathematics

Hometown: Portland, CT

Company Interned for: The New Britain Rock Cats, MiLB Team

AC: How did you find out about this internship?  What resources on campus did you use?  

PC: The Amica Center emailed me about a career fair in the sports industry.  I absolutely love sports, so after attending that, I knew I had to find an internship in the sports industry to see if it truly was a good fit for me.  I came across the internship for the New Britain Rock Cats and went for it.  Luckily I landed it!

AC: What was your favorite part of interning with the Rock Cats and what did you find most challenging?VW2ALJBM

PC: My favorite part was applying all the concepts I learned in my accounting classes to a baseball team. It was really cool to see the business side of baseball instead of being a fan. I also really enjoyed working the games. I was able to enjoy summer nights with a baseball diamond right in front of me. The most challenging thing for me were the hours. When there was a game, I usually worked 12-hour days. We hosted the Eastern League All Star Game this year and I put in 75 hours for that week! It was very tiring at times with all the hours but definitely worth it.

AC: What advice do you have for underclassmen who are looking to pursue internships in regards to owning your experiences? 995777_10153123930395220_1780948265_n

PC: When you pursue an internship, you need to make sure it is something that you are going to enjoy. I knew I was going to enjoy working for a baseball team and I wanted to make the most out of the internship so I went out of my way to show initiative and do what I thought would be best for my experience.  My internship was focused on sales but I made it a point the very first week to head over to the accounting department and see if there was any way I could help out a day or two…I ended up working there most days! If you pursue something that interests you, your best work usually comes with it. Without even noticing it, I really made a great impression on the executives, just because I was doing what I loved.

AC:  Lastly, what are you looking forward to in your senior year?!  Any other internships or work lined up?!

PC: I am looking forward to getting back into a school routine mostly. It is going to be an adjustment compared to being at work for 12 hours a day. As for internships, I am currently looking for one in the winter and potentially the spring. I have to make an Amica appointment to see what’s available!

Comments are closed.