Ana Esquea’s United Nations Internship

Name: Ana Cristina ANAEsquea
Year: Sophomore
Major/Minor: Global Studies: International Economics Track / Politics and Law
Hometown: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Organization Interned For: United Nations’ World Population Fund (UNWPA)

What were some of your daily responsibilities at your internship?

The World Population Fund’s main goal is to collect relevant data in areas such as adolescent pregnancy, population and development, and gender equality in order to present it to government officials and other decision makers in the country to influence existing or help shape future legislation. Because they have experts that collect and break down the information, their job is mostly making the connection with the people who ultimately end up making the decisions. I interned specifically under the Population and Development area and was in charge of creating the information packages sent to senators, as well as helping plan and execute the launch of one of their most recent studies on the Cost of Teenage Pregnancies for the country. I was also in charge of creating a plan to include informative posters in public transportation such as the public bus system and the metro.

What role did the Amica Career Center play in getting your internship?

Though I got my internship through other contacts, the Amica Career Center helped me prepare the resume I ultimately submitted with my application.

What was your favorite experience from your internship?
Ana2

My favorite part of the internship was without a doubt getting to shake hands with Ban-Ki Moon, the Secretary-General of the UN, who visited the country for the first time while I was interning there.

What was the most important thing you learned at your internship?

I have always had a strong interest in how the international community works, and working for the United Nations has always been something I’ve considered. Getting to work within the system taught me not only how to make and maintain important relationships with people who might be influential, but also how the system works as well as the bureaucracy and thought behind every decision made. I also had to complete special training in case of emergencies which provided me with the tools to be able to not only survive, but protect myself and those around me in case of an emergency.

Will you keep in touch with coworkers from your internship?

I will definitely keep in touch with them, not only because I was offered an internship next summer, but because I met a wonderful group of people who are also influential in the field I would like to go into.

How did/will this internship help you further your career?

Being able to intern in a UN office as an incoming sophomore is not an opportunity a lot of people get. As international relations is the area I would like to go into once I’m done with college, having this experience under my belt will be extremely helpful in not only demonstrating to people that I am capable of such an opportunity, but also that I understand the system and am truly dedicated to the job, whatever that may be.

Shannon Bio

Comments are closed.