Taylor Bell’s Path to Actuarial Analyst

Name: Taylor Bell

Major / Minor: Major – Actuarial Mathematics, Minor: Business Administration

Grad Year: 2014

Hometown: Yorktown Heights, NY

Company Interned for: New York Stock Exchange, Euronext

Taylor Bell answers a phone at the NYSE

Taylor Bell answers a phone at the NYSE

Internship Location: New York, New York

What were your day-to-day intern duties?

            I was an intern in the Financial Planning and Analysis department. FP&A has many responsibilities including: conducting the monthly close process, managing the annual budgeting process, providing support for all financial and management aspects of each business unit within NYSE and providing support and interface for all of the business units of Finance. As an intern, I was primarily responsible for creating financial planning and analysis models as well as assisting the accounting department with various projects. Some of the biggest projects that I worked on were creating templates for the budgeting and forecasting process, preparing analysis of costs associated with the global expatriate program, preparing detailed global legal consulting expense analysis, and numerous bank/payroll account reconciliations.

Current Employer and Location:  Mercer – Princeton, NJ

Current Job Title: Retirement Consulting Actuarial Analyst

Job Responsibilities:

  • Assist clients with the financial measurement of their retirement benefit programs using state-of-the-art software and stochastic modeling tools.
  • Strategize with clients to develop or enhance their retirement benefit programs.
  • Analyze client data to track historical and future employment trends and their correlation to retirement benefit programs and funding.
  • Keep clients up to date on regulated or legislated changes that affect the ongoing administration of their retirement benefit programs.

What role did Amica, your professors, or other campus resources play in obtaining your internship or full time job?:

As a freshman I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to major in or what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I attended the Career Planning 101 information sessions which were helpful in guiding me towards picking my major and ultimately choosing the actuarial career path. I also used the 24 hour résumé editing services, the BCC and on-campus interviews.

The BCC was the most convenient and easiest way to apply for jobs during my senior year. Being a student-athlete I was always pressed for time and the BCC helped make the job search less time consuming and stressful. It was a great way to narrow down my search and hone in on what I was really interested in.

In addition, my actuarial mathematics professors provided my classmates and I with many opportunities to meet with alumni in the actuarial field. They also frequently gave us advice about how to approach the internship/job search and told us about opportunities that were available.

How has your Bryant education benefitted you in real world examples?

            Bryant prides itself on diversity, teamwork and professionalism. All of these factors are necessary to be successful in the business world. In both my internship and current job it is integral to know how to work with others in order to achieve a common goal.  The strong emphasis that Bryant places on public speaking and group presentations has also helped me tremendously. 

Taylor poses with co-workers at the NYSE during her summer internship

What was your favorite memory of Bryant? Of any internship you held?:

            My favorite Bryant memory was winning the North East Conference Division I softball championship with my team.                                             

What advice would you have for underclassmen who are searching for an internship or full time position?

            Network! The more relationships you have and lasting impressions you make, the easier it is to get an internship/job. Be confident, be prepared, and don’t be afraid to go outside of your comfort zone.

If you could re-do one thing over your Bryant career, what would it be and why?

            If I could re-do one thing over my Bryant career it would be choosing my major earlier and studying abroad. I chose to major in actuarial mathematics in the middle of my sophomore year and that prevented me from being able to study abroad (unless I wanted to attend an extra year of classes). I love to travel and visit new places so that is definitely something I wish I could have done.

Anything else you would like to add?

Bryant is full of so many amazing clubs and organizations, make sure you get involved with something. It doesn’t matter what you do, but don’t limit yourself to only one thing. Join a club, apply for that e-board position, try out for a sports team – make the most of your time at Bryant because they are truly the best 4 years of your life!


Interview conducted and prepared by Ben Sawicki, Amica Career Center
Ben Sawicki

 

Comments are closed.