Devlin-Ann Ammendola’s New York Story!

Name: Devlin-Ann Ammendola

Major / Minor: Global Supply Chain Management/Psychology

The office at Mediavest

The office at MediaVest

Year: Graduating May 2015

Hometown: Long Island, New York

Company Interned for: I worked at MediaVest for Yahoo

Internship Location: New York City

What were your day-to-day intern duties? I was a planning, buying, and research intern.  Considering MediaVest is an agency, I met with vendors such as LinkedIn, Google, Hulu, etc. almost every day.  Sometimes these meetings took place in a conference room but other times these meeting would take place at upscale restaurants in New York City which is a common perk of the industry.  Before meetings I would send vendors an e-mail of what we are trying to accomplish with Yahoo so that they could come prepared with a relevant presentation. Yahoo runs on a quarterly basis so the work environment was hectic and fast-paced.  Once I was trained to learn the necessary software my main responsibility was to pull reports and analyze data to support and prove that the plan decisions we prepared made sense. If we decided to proceed with a vendor I was in charge of the operations including buyer’s authorizations, purchase orders, and insertion orders.  I got to work on several projects including Yahoo beauty, food, sports, world cup, etc.  Considering my whole summer was based on Yahoo, I was exposed to numerous strategies and had to stay ahead of current news, trends, and technologies.  Throughout my internship, it was required that I create my own individual 15 minute presentation that I presented the last week of summer to all the managers, interns, and anyone else in the company who wanted to come.

Devlin's office set-up for her summer internship with Mediavest!

Devlin’s office set-up for her summer internship with MediaVest!

What role did Amica, your professors, or other campus resources play in obtaining your internship:

This internship was posted on the BCC website so that is how I interviewed for the position. Although every course at Bryant prepared me for this internship, I found that the class which helped me the most with this internship was the E-business models course which counted towards my Supply Chain Major.  Amica was great in helping me find an internship-they are all extremely friendly and passionate about helping students succeed.

What was your favorite memory?

My favorite memory was when the World Cup was on television.  Everyone at my company reserved restaurants and tables at the liveliest places in New York City and were given an extended lunch break so that every employee could enjoy a good time with their fellow co-workers and watch the game.

Are you maintaining a connection with your co-workers from your internship?

Yes! I had three managers that I became close with and I even made a few intern friends that I keep in touch with.

Why do you think it was important to complete an internship?

Learning in the classroom gives you basic knowledge but actually interning in a company gives you so much more perspective.  Interning is a great opportunity to see if what you thought you wanted to do in life is what you really want to do.  An internship is great because it is for a short amount of time and is like a test run.  The networking and contacts you gain from interning are priceless, after every meeting I attended the vendors would request me on LinkedIn-a social media account that every single business student should have.  If you do not have a LinkedIn you do not exist.  I really learned more from this internship than I ever thought I would and it gave me a clearer vision on what I want to do after graduating.

What advice would you have for underclassmen who are searching for an internship?

Start looking as soon as possible and go to as many career fairs and networking events as possible.  Getting someone’s business card from a company you are interested in goes a long way.  If you sit at home and apply through websites there is a high chance you will never get a response.  You really have to be active and motivated.  Many good companies hire interns early which means that they will not be interested in you if you try to contact them later in the year.

If you could re-do one thing over your Bryant career, what would it be?

I would take advantage of the resources at Bryant more during my freshman and sophomore year.  I really did not take advantage of all the things the Amica Center offers until my Junior Year.  Now that I realize how crucial and helpful the workshops and networking events are, I go to as many as I possibly can.  I am constantly getting my resume checked, constantly going to networking events, and even joining organizations related to my major outside of Bryant.  Bryant really does give you the tools for success and every student should utilize them and take full advantage.

Do you have any plans so far for post-graduation?

I plan to have a job by the end of this semester and am enjoying the interview process as of now to see what opportunities I have-I even already had my first interview the first week back at school.

Anything else you would like to add?

  • Fun Fact: the CEO of MediaVest is a Bryant Alumni!!! I got to speak with him and he is truly an awesome guy, we are even connected on LinkedIn. He helped produce the show Survivor with Mark Burnett and started his career with investment banking.  This shows how what you major in is not stuck to you for life, there are many opportunities out there especially coming out of a great school like Bryant.
  • I am interning at Bradford Soap Works this Fall in West Warwick as a Global Supply Chain Management intern and that was on the BCC website as well.
  • I studied abroad in Florence, Italy for four months
  • I went to Germany/Spain on SIE
  • I am a student athlete on the Women’s Tennis Team at Bryant
  • Any student can contact me if they need advice on anything! Dammendo@bryant.edu

Ben Sawicki

 

Comments are closed.