Jennifer Manni’s Marketing Internship with SES America!

ManniName: Jennifer Manni

Major: Marketing

Minor: Sociology and Communication

Hometown: Warwick, Rhode Island

Graduation Year2015

Company: SES America – Founded in 1986 in Rhode Island, SESA is a high quality ITS solution manufacturer focused on providing Dynamic Message Signs and retrofit packages to clients across the United States.SESA manufactures and sells competitive DMS and other ITS products that incorporate years of design, engineering, and testing experience. Every product is created with ease-of-use, ease-of-install and longevity in mind and has been proven to survive the harshest conditions. Our project approach is to work alongside our clients rather than for them and to deal with obstacles directly rather than creating “work-around” solutions, ensuring complete client satisfaction.

What were your daily responsibilities at your internship?

► Market Research: identify competition, products, price level, and competitors’ selling points

► Sales Assistant: contact prospective and current customers, search the web for opportunities

► Social Media Manager: monitor and create content for all social media accounts

• Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter

► Search Engine Optimization (SEO): create meta descriptions, SEO titles, and focus keywords

► Technical Skills: Zoho Customer Relationship Management Tool, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, and Powerpoint

 

What role did the Amica Career Center play in obtaining this internship?

Although I did not get this internship through the BCC, the Amica Career Center helped me get my first internship at Newberry Public Relations and Marketing, Inc. I went to the LinkedIn Workshop and met with Barbara Gregory to discuss my potential options. I applied the resources and skills that the Amica Career Center taught me with my first internship to get my position at SES America.

What was your favorite experience/memory from your internship?

I was given a significant amount of responsibility in my internship. My favorite experience was creating and maintaining social media pages for SES America. I posted on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter for the company.

What was the most important thing you learned at your internship?

I learned about business to business (B2B) marketing. My first internship was at a PR and marketing agency that focused more on business to consumer (B2C) marketing. Having experience in both will be extremely useful in my future job search.

How did/will this internship further your career?

This internship taught me more about the real world of marketing and sales. Talking about my experience will be extremely useful in interviews with potential employers.

What is the best piece of advice you could give to underclassmen?

Start your internship search early and try to have a few internships before you graduate.  They are great talking points in interviews and help you apply core concepts to the real world.

 


 

Interview conducted and prepared by

Shannon Bio

 

Comments are closed.