Dayo Owoyemi: Google Intern

dayo3

After Day 2 of Orientation with my Bromate from Rutgers University! SIDE NOTE: I was wearing shorts. Although Google has no dress code, it was interesting to find that I was the only intern in orientation wearing shorts that day (I obviously tried to immerse myself in the culture from day one). During my 12 weeks I quickly learned that the Business Googlers hardly wore shorts to work. And so I never wore shorts again. The Tech/Engineering Googlers wore all sorts, from Cargo Shorts to Basketball pants and sandals.

Name: Dayo Owoyemi

Year: Senior

Internship: Google Account Strategist BOLD Intern

Major: Actuarial Mathematics

Minor: Business Administration & Finance

How did you get this internship?

I got the opportunity to intern at Google through an organization called Management Leaders For Tomorrow (MLT). MLT was founded to create the next generation of high impact diverse leaders by equipping high potential minorities with the winning playbook and personalized coaching needed to reach their potential and maximize their impact at every stage of their careers. As a fellow in the 18-month Career Prep program, I enhanced my analytical, leadership, and interview skills and had the opportunity to be recruited by companies like Google, Goldman Sachs, Credit Suisse, Accenture, Deloitte, and many more.

What were your daily responsibilities at your internship?

This was the first thing I saw when I landed in San Jose, CA. I had never been on the west coast and I just got off a 6 hour flight - this sign put the biggest smile on my face!!

This was the first thing I saw when I landed in San Jose, CA. I had never been on the west coast and I just got off a 6 hour flight – this sign put the biggest smile on my face!!

I was recruited for the SMB Account Strategist position. As an Account Strategist, I managed a book of 150 small-medium sized companies across the US, and provided strategic consultations to understand their business goals and maximize their Adwords ROI.

I was in direct communication with the CEO, CMO, or Marketing Manager of the companies in my book of business for the majority of the day. Whether it was on the phone or via email, I was learning about each company, discussing its business goals & objectives, using several data driven resources and my business knowledge to develop tailored business strategy with Google Adwords products, optimizing Google Adwords accounts, and following up on performance.

What was your favorite experience at Google?

In Short: Building a Mobile Opportunity tool that launched globally!

Google is an amazing organization that I have admired for long. And during this summer I wanted to be audacious enough to make an impact. I wanted to find a way to contribute to Google’s awesomeness. It’s a crazy feat, my core role was demanding, but I tried to by looking for opportunities to work on projects outside of my core role. Eventually I ended up working with a full time Googler to develop a Mobile Opportunity tool that would help Account Strategists easily identify the Adwords Agencies, Companies, and Campaigns with the largest mobile opportunity. The tool was about helping Google Strategist add more value to the companies they work with. The tool launched in Google US on the last day of my internship and later  in Google LATAM.

What is the coolest thing about Google?

One of several Google hosted intern events this summer! The individuals in this picture are all fellow members of Management Leadership for Tomorrow.

One of several Google hosted intern events this summer! The individuals in this picture are all fellow members of Management Leadership for Tomorrow.

3 Things: Googlers. Free Food. The ability and resources to learn anything.

What was the most challenging part about your internship?

Google has so many different great amenities. It is impossible to resist the urge to try to join, eat, and learn everything you can in 10 weeks. But It is also impossible to do that without losing sight of your core role. The most challenging part about my internship this summer was figuring out how to maintain high performance in a challenging role and still take full advantage of the awesome amenities google has to offer.

How will this further your career?

Google Interns take Ellis Peak at Lake Tahoe, CA. Myself, and a bunch of interns planned a trip to Lake Tahoe for 4th of July.

Google Interns take Ellis Peak at Lake Tahoe, CA. Myself, and a bunch of interns planned a trip to Lake Tahoe for 4th of July.

One of my career aspirations is to found my own Consulting company. There are many times during my internship that I would take off my Google-Intern cap and put on my CEO-in-training cap. The skills that I have developed around data analysis, problem solving, customer service, design thinking, and delivering consistently high value, will help me achieve this goal.

What is your best piece of advice for Bryant Students?

You are more than your major. The integrated education we receive here at Bryant enables us to gain knowledge and develop skills in far more areas than the one that is on our degree. So don’t sell yourself short. Be curious, leverage your whole Bryant experience,  and let your career aspirations be as creative and grand as you want!

 

Comments are closed.