HR Intern Spotlight: Mollie Anderson & Year Up Providence

mollie head shotName: Mollie Anderson

Year: 2016

Internship: HR Intern at Year Up Providence

Major: HR Management and LCS

How did you get this internship?

I found Year Up through resources available through the Amica Career Center as well as through my own research. I had known that I would love to be able to work with a smaller organization in terms of the location and staff size, but also knew that I wanted to contribute to and be a part of an organization that was driven towards a “greater good.” I started looking into non-profits in Rhode Island that incorporated aspects of the smaller setting, educational focus (as I also have an interest in teaching), and needed organizational aid that would allow me for growth in the HR/Ops field. Upon finding Year Up, I set up a phone interview (as I had been out of the country at the time), spoke with Elizabeth Russo (who would also be my site supervisor), and after some follow-up questions was offered the chance to work with their organization as one of Bryant’s first interns there. After getting the approval for academic credit from Bryant’s HR directors as well as Professor Dave Greenan (my academic/internship supervisor), I attended a site visit and my internship started up.

What were your daily responsibilities at your internship?

Daily responsibilities varied throughout the course of my internship as HR incorporates so many aspects of the organization. I was able to meet and work with all staff members from finance, fundraising, operations, outreach, to on-site professors. I met with Year Up students, aided in financial logging, sat in on professional development meetings, attended New Hire orientations, and even helped with the formation of an On-Boarding Guide (both hard copy and electronic copy) that would serve as both a training tool and employee resources tool.

What was your favorite memory/experience at your internship?

mollie

My favorite experience was being able to sit in on the New Hire Orientation. I helped with the set up and was able to sit in on the event throughout the course of the day. It was amazing to hear where people came from in terms of their backgrounds and how they came to work with Year Up.

What was the most challenging part about your internship?

The most challenging part would have to be the creation of the On-Boarding Guide. It was important to manage all completed materials so that both the physical and electronic copies were consistent, complete, and therefore helpful to employees looking for particular Year Up resources.

How will this further your career?

This internship really got me to consider working within a non profit upon graduation. It was interesting to see the differences in operational behaviors as well as enable a sense of really doing something good for the community. With Year Up’s incorporation of education, it also pushed my interest in teaching further towards considering the continuation of my own education to obtain my teaching degree.

What is your best piece of advice for underclassmen?

Branch out. Don’t be afraid to do things outside of what you know, and always try and keep things interesting.

Comments are closed.