Shaun Rolph’s Climb to the Top

Name: Shaun Rolph
Year: 2016
Internship: Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, Pathways Internship Economic Intern
Major: International Political Economicsshuannn

How did you get this internship?

This internship was the product of hard work from two separate internships within my time here at Bryant. The first was a marketing analysis internship with Amica. This internship gave me the data software skills I would need to be marketable with the OCC, SAS and Tableau. Bryant University has a strength by cultivating their relationships with local companies to give opportunities to students like me. This is the development of human capital not just through education but real important experience. Amica gave me that.

The second was actually through The Washington Center program. I became an economic research and policy intern with the American Trucking Association in DC. This internship and program immersed me in the culture and politics of DC through panels, volunteering, interviews, and even educational classes. This gave me an edge through the knowledge of the inner working of DC politics. The combination of the two internships made me a prime candidate for my future internship with OCC of the Treasury Department. This would have not been possible without Bryant resources. I will now get to research economic information to enforce policy and regulation on the financial sector of the U.S because of past opportunities.

What were your responsibilities at your internship?

From over 20 weekly reports for upper management at Amica showing customer data for marketing campaigns and AdHoc campaigns to researching and communicating with agencies such as DOT, DOE, and DOD to achieve policy and economic information for ATA, I had great responsibilities with both internships. I even had to create a massive Safety Expenditure Survey to analyze the market of the trucking industry and the cost made on safety. These responsibilities were instrumental to my future internship. These responsibilities were not making copies or getting coffee. They are real skills that can be transferable to my future internships or jobs.

What was your favorite memory/experience at your internship?

I have two separate memories. One is Old Rag Mountain in Virginia. A 3,200 foot mountain filled with bears and 1000 feet of climbing rock to reach the summit. I dragged my friend to the top and even ran into a few bears. While others went back down I took a picture and continued to climb, dragging my reluctant friend with me. It was seven hours of climbing and bouldering. I have been to the top of Mount Washington and the View at Old Rag was just as astounding.

My second was through TWC. I was able to talk with my Massachusetts senator, Ed Markey. I looked him directly in eyes and asked “please tell me why your top five campaign contributors are backing you?” He gave me a great honest response and I gained respect for a politician.

What was the most challenging part of your internship?

The most challenging part of both internships is sourced from one of my greatest faults. I am a U.S. Marine and have been in the high leadership role of training and managing 120 people in a combat environment. When coming back to civilian life, it is hard to take positions below that management level. Very quickly I had to adapt to these position. The Marines teach you there is no job below or above you. This is true and the most challenging moments I have are when I actually did get coffee for a meeting I was participating in when I used to order men/women to get me coffee. It is a daily struggle, but it keeps me humble and able to understand what kind of leader I want to be and how I treat everyone in an environment.

How will this further your career?

shuan1

The future internship I am going to be completing during the summer is a perfect example of how these internships give you opportunities for careers you want. The OCC will give me the chance to research economic and policy to give information to change the financial sector of the world. This is my future. I want to use this internship as a next step in learning how I can use education and information to change the U.S economy for the better.

What is your best piece of advice for underclassmen?

Work to the bone. I have worked literally over 36 hours straight as a Marine. There will be lulls of energy and understanding within an internship but if you really want to achieve your dream you need to push yourself through it all. You need evaluate your state of mind and move beyond it. You can have all the skills and resources in the world, but no one will hire you if there is a lack of work ethic. It is the best quality you can have.

Comments are closed.